Thought I would play a long with this fun little ‘game’ making it’s rounds at the moment. I saw it over at Sharyn’s blog and basically you just look up the 8th photo in the 8th folder of your pics and tell the story behind it. So here we go…

La Sagrada Familia

I’m so glad it’s this photo! This is Gaudi’s famous La Sagrada Familia cathedral in the wonderful city of Barcelona. When I was a teenager I used to have a collage of pictures on the wall of my room which I later took with me to University. There were a few polaroids from my Mum’s travels and lots of pictures of exciting places cut from magazines. My favourite picture was of this cathedral – it was just so radically different to anything I’d ever seen before (coming from a country that is younger than 200 years) and the style of building is so unique compared to other pictures I’d seen of cathedrals around Europe. I guess it kind of represented my desire (even from that age) to travel the world and see things that amaze me.

Last year Matt and I visited Barcelona as part of a trip we did around Northern Spain. Obviously, visiting this church was top of my list of things to do and I was not disappointed.

It was absolutely incredible and its size is breathtaking.

Unfortunately, the cathedral is far from finished but it is still amazing. It’s construction began in 1882 and after several interruptions the job has been back underway for a while now. That’s why you can see the cranes in the background which doesn’t make for a great photo, but is a good reminder as to how long this masterpiece will take to build – it’s scheduled to be completed in 2026 and I hope to visit it again after that :)

N x

