One thing I adore about living in the UK is how seasonal the weather is. There is a very distinct Winter, Spring, Summer (albeit short) and Autumn. Parts of New Zealand are very seasonal as well, but in Auckland (where I come from) you definitely get Summer and Winter but the in-between bits are often just a quick interlude.

This is my third Autumn in the UK and I have fallen head-over-heels for this season. I never thought much of it before, so I’ve been thinking – why do I love Autumn so much?

…Although I love Summer for obvious reasons, Autumn is cosy! It has the chill of Winter but with more crisp, blue sky days and less rain.

…Autumn always feels like new beginnings to me. I think it’s because Autumn was the first change of season I saw when I first moved to the UK (as I arrived in Summer) and it reminds me of such an exciting time in my life.

…and of course, if you live in the Northern Hemisphere, Autumn means Christmas is just around the corner and mulled wine, pine trees & thick woollen scarves aren’t too far away.

Autumn 2009 Layout

Last year I spent a bit of time in London’s glorious parks taking photos of all the lovely leaves, so I wanted to share a page featuring some of my Autumn 2009 photos:

A pretty simple layout, but I like it.

What is Autumn like in your part of the world? Do you love it as much as me?

Before I sign off, a big hello! to all the new friends made during the blog hop – it was so much fun and I’m so happy to have a heap of fresh, inspiring blogs in my Google Reader.

N x

